top of page
Jewish Theatre of Bloomington Logo

About Us

Indiana's only Jewish Theatre

Abby Lee and Tess Cunningham in Church and State

Our Mission

The Jewish Theatre of Bloomington is deeply committed to both Jewish culture and the theatre. It is our intent to produce works that arise from or reflect the Jewish experience, but that also focus on universal issues of the human condition that are accessible to a diverse audience. Our aim is to bring together an audience of Jews and non-Jews to explore aspects of Jewish life in a modern world.

Why did we start the theatre?

The genre of Jewish theatre is a vibrant performing arts experience with a rich and long standing international history. "For me, it is  an extension or outgrowth of what I had been doing informally for several years in the Jewish community," says Audrey Heller, Producing Artistic Director. 

With a deep commitment to both Jewish culture and the theatre, the formation of a Jewish theatre company seemed a natural thing to do. So in 2005, the Jewish Theatre of Bloomington (JTB) proudly took its place as the only one of its kind located in Indiana, co-founded by Audrey Heller.

Sarah Leaffer and Devin May in The Last Night of Ballyhoo


Audrey received her Master's Degree in Speech Pathology from the Pennsylvania State University. She is a Clinical Assistant Professor Emerita in The IU Department of Speech and Hearing Sciences. Audrey studied theatre at Columbia University and took directing courses at Cal State Long Beach and IU. She has directed for Diversity Theatre, a social issues theatre company. She has been a puppeteer with Puck Players Puppet Theatre. She was Producing Artistic Director for Diversity Theatre and co-coordinator for MOSAIC, an annual diversity film festival.

In the late 2000's, Darrell Stone joined Audrey as co-artistic director for three seasons. Darrell now serves as Artistic Advisor, talk back facilitator and she is a member of JTB's board of directors.


Managing Director: Svetla Vladeva

Administrative Assistant:​
Kathleen McConahay

Iris Kiesling ~ President

Anne Steigerwald ~ Secretary

Deb Allmayer ~ Treasurer

Malcolm Abrams

Sheryl Doades

Ray Hedin

Audrey Heller

Marshall Jacobs

Judith Rose

Darrell Stone

Stan Wasserman 

Linda Whikehart

Amalia Shifriss

Svetla Vladeva, Ex Officio

For general questions, comments, or more information, email

bottom of page